AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: How ChatGPT Pro Changed After The Limit Increase on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances across its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers. The changes took effect October 29, 2026, but do not double every ChatGPT limit: some chat limits are unchanged, and OpenAI did not specify the size of the Business Premium increase.

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances across its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers on October 29, one day before the reduction was due to take effect. The change gives users more capacity for those tools, but does not double every ChatGPT limit, and the monthly prices remain unchanged.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also canceled the reduction it had announced for Pro 200. Its updated help page says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The change applies automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for a renewal.

Work and Codex share an allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work supports longer, multi-step tasks, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. The increase therefore expands a shared usage pool for those products, not every feature or model limit in ChatGPT.

The scope differs by plan. Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit was raised to match its higher one. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. Plus usage is unchanged. OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a figure in its release note; a post by OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux described that increase as a doubling.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; effective i…
The developmentOpenAI reversed a planned October 30 cut to Pro 200 Work and Codex usage and raised allowances across its Pro tiers a day earlier.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

More Capacity, Not More of Every Limit

For subscribers who use Work or Codex heavily, the larger allowance may mean fewer interruptions from usage caps and more room for extended research, document work or coding tasks. It also changes the practical value of the Pro tiers compared with the planned October 30 terms, without changing their prices.

The increase should not be read as twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. Limits for other ChatGPT features may remain unchanged, and Pro 100 and Pro 500 users should not expect a higher weekly GPT-6 Pro chat allowance based on this announcement.

For organizations, the update affects how much work eligible seats can do within ChatGPT, but it does not itself change API budgets. Companies may need to review which employees require paid seats and how they monitor usage. OpenAI’s release note does not provide a numerical Business Premium increase, making that tier harder to compare precisely.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Sony WH-1000XM6 Wireless Noise-Canceling Over-Ear Headphones, Blue, Bundle

Sony WH-1000XM6 Wireless Noise-Canceling Over-Ear Headphones, Blue, Bundle

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The September Plan Change Reversed

The reversal follows a series of changes to OpenAI’s Pro lineup. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the move to demand for GPT-6 Astra, quoting him as saying demand was “really unprecedented.” OpenAI later reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500 at its September 29 DevDay event.

That day, OpenAI said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive details by email. Sottiaux described the original ladder on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying existing Pro 200 subscribers would retain a 20X multiplier for a time. The October 29 announcement canceled the scheduled reduction before it took effect.

OpenAI’s release notes and updated help page give the clearest plan-specific account of the new terms. Sottiaux’s social post used broader wording, saying all usage limits were doubling for Pro tiers and Business Premium. The help page specifies which limits changed and says some chat limits did not, so this article follows that more detailed description.

“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Premium Increase Unspecified

OpenAI has not published a numerical increase for Business Premium in the October 29 release note. Sottiaux said that tier’s usage limits would double, but the updated help information described here does not provide a factor. The precise allowance for those seats is therefore not established by the official release note.

The source material also does not specify the exact Work and Codex allowance in units for each Pro tier, or how much work users will complete before reaching a cap. OpenAI says consumption varies by model, task and speed mode. Business Standard, Go and Free were not mentioned in the October 29 notes, so no change to those plans is established here.

Check Updated Plan Allowances

Subscribers can check their account’s usage page and updated plan information to see the allowance available to them. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, so they do not need to wait for a renewal or take a separate action.

Businesses reviewing seat costs should distinguish ChatGPT plan allowances from API budgets, which are separate, and confirm the terms for Business Premium with OpenAI if a precise usage figure is needed. The company may provide more detail later, but the source material does not identify a date for additional plan information.

Key Questions

What changed for ChatGPT Pro on October 29?

OpenAI canceled the planned Pro 200 Work and Codex allowance cut and doubled the previous Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500. The updated help page says Pro 200’s lower allowance doubled to match the higher one.

Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT limit?

No. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, and Plus usage is unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit was raised to match its higher one.

Does Business Premium get twice as much usage?

OpenAI’s release note confirms increased Business Premium usage but gives no numerical factor. Thibault Sottiaux said in a post that the increase was a doubling; the release note itself does not specify that amount.

Do existing subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.

Did the monthly Pro prices change?

No price change was announced. The source lists the Pro tiers at $100, $200 and $500 per month; the October 29 update changed usage allowances, not those prices.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

AI Narration, In-House Models: What Went Into GewerkTon’s New Film

“Where GewerkTon works” is a three-minute film through 64 sample buildings – homes, renovations, schools, hospitals, industry, energy, transport and data centres. Every building, plan and model was made by GewerkTon; all projects are fictional.

What Higgsfield’s Longer AI Video Generation Means

OpenAI reports Higgsfield has extended AI video generation from about one minute to over 10 minutes, but workflow and access details are unclear.

Build More Engaging Voice Interactions Using GPT‑Live‑1 Technology

OpenAI announces GPT-Live-1, a new API model enabling developers to create more natural, real-time voice experiences in applications and devices.