AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What Apple’s AI Week Reveals About Siri’s Memory And The Folding iPhone on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Apple’s October 26 iOS 27.2 update gives beta Siri AI conversation recall, access to more personal context, and support for five additional languages. Apple also acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of foldable iPhone Duo units, but has not confirmed the cause. Siri’s availability, usage limits and paid-tier pricing remain restricted or unsettled.

Apple’s **iOS 27.2 update**, released October 26, lets beta Siri AI recall earlier conversations, use more personal information and operate in **five additional languages**. Separately, Apple acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of its **foldable iPhone Duo** units, but has not identified the cause. The developments concern the company’s software update and its newest phone design.

According to Apple’s release notes, Siri AI can now refer back to earlier conversations, including prior recommendations. It can also use information such as **Calendar attendees, voicemails and photos attached in Messages**. A new “Excluded Apps” setting lets users manage which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access. The update also adds the ability to select and copy part of a Siri response. Apple says Siri on Apple Watch provides faster responses.

French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish join English, bringing Siri AI’s stated language support to **six languages**. Apple has promised four more by the end of 2026. The feature remains labelled **beta** and requires an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later; it is not available to users under 13. Apple’s listed availability restrictions also leave Siri AI unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the EU and mainland China.

Apple separately confirmed “an issue impacting the inner display on a small number of iPhone Duo units” and said affected devices are being replaced through AppleCare. The company has not publicly confirmed why the displays are affected. The source account says an iFixit simulation identified a possible stress point around the hinge, but that is not a confirmed finding about the cause of the reported failures.

At a glance
reportWhen: October 26–27, 2026; Apple’s next annou…
The developmentApple released iOS 27.2 with expanded Siri AI features and acknowledged a display issue in a small number of iPhone Duo foldables.
Watch the five-minute video: Siri AI’s new memory, the iPhone Duo’s hinge problem and what to do, with animated charts. Narration: AI voice clone of Thorsten Meyer.

Siri’s Memory Meets Foldable Durability

The update allows Siri to handle follow-up requests by referring to earlier exchanges, so users may not need to restate the full context. Access to information such as messages and calendar details expands the personal information available to the assistant. The **Excluded Apps control** lets users manage which apps contribute information. Apple has not provided further details in the supplied material about how these controls operate in practice.

The inner display and hinge are central components of the Duo’s design. Apple has acknowledged an issue affecting some units and said replacements are being provided through AppleCare. The company has not disclosed the number of affected devices or whether replacements address a common defect. The cause remains unconfirmed.

According to the source account, Apple’s AI features combine on-device processing with Apple’s Private Cloud Compute, while some rivals offer cloud-based AI services. Apple’s rollout remains subject to device eligibility, geographic availability, beta status and daily usage limits.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

LG UltraGear 27-Inch QHD OLED Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, 0.03ms, G-SYNC Compatible, FreeSync Premium Pro, HDMI 2.1

LG UltraGear 27-Inch QHD OLED Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, 0.03ms, G-SYNC Compatible, FreeSync Premium Pro, HDMI 2.1

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Apple Reached This Update

Siri AI launched with iOS 27 on **September 14** as an English-language beta. Apple described it as a version of Siri with personal context, world knowledge and onscreen awareness, able to carry out tasks across apps. Its June announcement referred to a system orchestrator drawing on the on-device Spotlight index and an App Toolbox. The October 26 release is the first substantial update described in the supplied source material.

Apple’s privacy model divides processing between the device and **Private Cloud Compute**, its server system. Apple says personal data sent there is not stored or made accessible to Apple or others, and says outside experts can verify the system. In a January 12 joint statement, Apple and Google said the next generation of Apple Foundation Models would be “based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology,” while Apple Intelligence would continue to run on Apple devices and Private Cloud Compute. Reports about Google infrastructure hosting cloud capacity are not confirmed by Apple in the supplied material.

There are also limits to access and cost. Apple says server-side features, including some Siri AI functions, have **daily usage limits** that vary with the feature, request complexity and demand. The company has announced that expanded access will be offered for a fee in the future, but has not published the limits or a price.

““The next generation of Apple Foundation Models will be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology.””

— Apple, in the January 12 joint statement with Google

Display Cause and Siri Limits

Apple has not said how many iPhone Duo units are affected, when the display issue began, or what engineering cause is responsible. The possible hinge stress point described in an iFixit simulation remains an interpretation, not a confirmed diagnosis from Apple. The supplied material also does not specify whether Apple has changed production or inspection procedures.

For Siri AI, Apple has not published the exact daily limits, the future paid tier’s price or its launch date. The source describes four more languages as planned by year-end, but gives no list or rollout schedule. Availability restrictions in the EU and mainland China also remain in place in the information provided, with no announced change.

Apple’s October 28 Event

Apple has confirmed a “Pro and tell” event for **October 28**. New Macs are rumoured, but the source material does not establish what products Apple will announce. The event may provide more information about the week’s launches, though no additional Siri or Duo announcements are confirmed in advance.

Apple has said four more Siri AI languages are due by the end of 2026, and that expanded access to some server-based features will eventually cost extra. Users with affected Duo phones can seek replacements through AppleCare, according to the company. Updates on the number of affected devices, the display diagnosis, language timing and pricing are still pending.

Key Questions

What changed in Siri AI with iOS 27.2?

The update adds **conversation recall**, access to more personal context such as Calendar attendees and voicemails, an Excluded Apps control, and five languages: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. Apple still labels Siri AI beta.

Which iPhones support Siri AI?

According to the supplied source, Siri AI requires an **iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later**. Apple says it is not available to users under 13, and availability remains restricted in the EU and mainland China for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.

What is wrong with the iPhone Duo display?

Apple confirmed an inner-display issue affecting a **small number of units** and said replacements are available through AppleCare. It has not confirmed the cause. A hinge-related stress point described in an iFixit simulation is not an established diagnosis.

Will Siri AI cost money?

Apple has announced that expanded access to server-based features will be available for a fee in the future. It has not disclosed **pricing, launch timing or daily usage limits**.

What has Apple confirmed for October 28?

Apple has confirmed a “Pro and tell” event. New Macs have been rumoured, but the supplied information does not confirm specific products or announcements.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

The Agent Said It Was Done. The Database Disagreed.

Microsoft and Hugging Face released ThinkingBox, a benchmark that checks AI agents’ backend changes across 507 workflows and 20 repeated runs.

Grok’s Secure Vault: What’s Stored, And Who Can Get It

The supplied material names a Grok “Secure Vault” but offers no article text or xAI documentation confirming the feature, its contents or access rules.

Claude Haiku 5.5

Anthropic says Haiku 5.5 is its fastest small model and costs about 75% less to run than Haiku 4.5. It is available across major cloud platforms.

The Ultimate Guide To Using AI For Dynamic Data In Sheets Canvas

Google introduces Sheets Canvas, a Gemini-powered feature enabling interactive dashboards from spreadsheet data via natural-language prompts, now rolling out globally.