AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainable relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a new limit. OpenAI also announced account-sharing restrictions and a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December, while increasing some Pro plan allowances. The developments point to more metering within flat-price plans, though the effect on individual users depends on details the companies have not published.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that serving Grok Bot cost more than its revenue could sustain, while OpenAI announced new account-sharing limits and a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance starting in December. The changes put a practical question before subscribers: a fixed monthly price may still come with usage limits, and the companies have not disclosed enough detail to predict how often users will hit them.

Musk made the comment in response to an X user who asked for a Grok Bot reset, saying users had run out of usage quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The post gave no cost, revenue or margin figures. It also did not announce a price change, a new usage cap or a reset policy. Grok Bot is xAI’s agent, which can carry out tasks such as research or browsing, rather than Grok chat in general.

According to xAI’s pricing information as described in the source material, Grok Bot is included with Premium, Super and Ultra subscriptions, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month, respectively. Its use draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and task difficulty, so two subscribers sending the same number of requests may use different amounts of that pool.

OpenAI’s help center says paid ChatGPT accounts will face limits on how many accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans, but OpenAI has not published the permitted number. From December, Plus, Pro and Business plans are set to share one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.

At a glance
analysisWhen: Developments announced from October 29…
The developmentMusk’s comment about Grok Bot costs coincided with new OpenAI rules on account sharing and usage allowances, renewing questions about what flat-price AI subscriptions include.
3 Ways The AI Pricing Debate Could Affect Your Chatbot Use

AI subscriptions · usage rules · November 2026

3 Ways The AI Pricing Debate Could Affect Your Chatbot Use

Flat monthly prices are gaining more usage rules. Recent comments from xAI and plan changes from OpenAI raise three practical questions for subscribers: what counts, what is shared, and what remains unknown?

3

Subscriber questions

Dec.

Shared allowance planned

$30–$200

Grok subscription tiers cited

Unknown

Exact usage limits

01 / What could change

Three ways pricing rules may reach your daily use

A fixed fee can still come with a meter. Each development affects a different part of the subscriber experience, and the precise impact depends on unpublished terms.

Shared pools

One product may use the other’s allowance

Starting in December, Plus, Pro and Business plans are set to share a token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Activity in one could reduce what remains for the other. Unlimited Instant chats are stated to sit outside this meter.

Variable tasks

Requests may not cost the same

xAI says Grok Bot usage depends on agent steps, tokens and task difficulty. A research task can draw more from the shared weekly pool than a short response, so message count alone may not show how long access will last.

Account access

Sharing rules may limit convenience

OpenAI says paid accounts will face limits on accounts used per device and subscriptions bought with one card or device. The material available here does not state the permitted number.

02 / The mechanics

How a flat price can meet a usage meter

The plan price is only one part of the equation. Products, tasks and allowances can interact in ways that are hard to estimate until vendors publish the rules.

1

Choose a plan

A monthly subscription sets the entry price, but may not define unlimited access.

2

Use connected tools

ChatGPT and Codex are planned to draw from one shared token allowance.

3

Task demand varies

Agent steps, tokens and task difficulty can make usage differ request by request.

4

Check what remains

Usage pages may help clarify current access, while policy details are still pending.

Signals behind the debate

What company leaders said

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

Elon Musk · X · November 1, 2026

03 / Plan changes in context

Higher limits and tighter controls can happen together

OpenAI’s late-October announcements included increases on selected plans alongside account-sharing limits and a planned shared meter. These are separate changes with different effects.

DevelopmentWhat is statedWhat remains unclear
Grok Bot cost comment Musk said serving costs were unsustainable relative to revenue. Not specified: costs, revenue, new cap, price change or reset policy.
ChatGPT and Codex Plus, Pro and Business are set to share a token-based allowance from December. Not specified: allowance size, full list of metered activities or typical task use.
Account sharing Limits are planned for accounts per device and subscriptions per card or device. Not specified: the permitted number in the available material.
Selected OpenAI plans Pro 100 and Pro 500 allowances were doubled; a planned Pro 200 reduction was cancelled. Plan-specific: increases do not describe every plan or product.

What subscribers can take away

Make decisions with the details that are available

For individuals

Check the account usage page before buying an upgrade, reset or credits. It can show available allowance, but it cannot answer policy questions the company has not published.

For businesses

Ask vendors for usage figures in writing and budget for metered use, as with cloud services. A seat price alone may not predict consumption costs.

Traceability / timeline

How the current debate developed

December 2024

“Unlimited access” plan

OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan described as offering unlimited access to its best models.

January 2025

Usage economics raised

Sam Altman wrote that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected.

October–December 2026

Controls and shared use

OpenAI announced selected allowance increases and new controls; its shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is planned for December.

How Usage Rules Could Affect Subscribers

For individual subscribers, a flat monthly fee does not by itself explain how much access a plan provides. If ChatGPT and Codex draw from one allowance, activity in one product could affect the amount available in the other. The precise effect will depend on the allowance, how tokens are counted and which features draw on it. Those details are not fully specified in the material available here.

Grok Bot illustrates a different pressure point: the cost of an agent task can vary with the work involved. xAI says usage reflects steps and tokens rather than simply the number of messages. A short answer and a longer background task may therefore draw different amounts from a shared weekly pool. That makes a message count a poor guide to how long an allowance will last.

Businesses face a budgeting question as subscriptions combine a seat price with usage that can vary. The source article advises companies to ask vendors for usage figures in writing and plan for metered use, as they would with cloud services. For consumers, checking the account’s usage page before buying an upgrade, reset or credits can help clarify the available allowance, but it cannot resolve missing policy details.

The plans are not all moving in the same direction. OpenAI also increased allowances on some higher-priced plans in the same week it announced metering changes. That matters because the story is not a simple across-the-board reduction. Subscribers need to distinguish which plan, product and usage pool a particular change applies to.

Products Worth Considering

Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-Inch Color Display with Premium Pen

Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-Inch Color Display with Premium Pen

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Week of Conflicting Plan Changes

The developments came against a longer-running debate about fixed-price AI access. In December 2024, OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan described as offering “unlimited access” to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. The source material provides that history as context for today’s pricing discussion; it does not establish that the plans or economics are directly comparable.

OpenAI’s late-October announcements combined higher limits with new controls. On October 29, Thibault Sottiaux, who works on Codex and ChatGPT, said on X: “We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.” OpenAI’s release notes, as summarized in the source material, were more specific: Pro 100 and Pro 500 allowances were doubled, and a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. The available source text cuts off before giving further detail on those release notes.

That mix helps explain why the changes can be hard to characterize. A higher allowance on selected plans can coincide with a new shared meter across products and restrictions on account sharing. These are separate policy changes, with different effects on different subscribers. The source article argues that the flat monthly price is staying while the idea that it automatically means unlimited use is receding. That is an interpretation of the developments, not a new policy statement from the companies.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, on X, November 1, 2026

What the Companies Have Not Specified

Musk’s post does not say whether xAI changed Grok Bot’s weekly pool, how large the pool is or whether users will receive resets. It contains no figures for the cost of serving the agent or the revenue it generated. The source material says some reports attributed faster usage to adjusted allocations and a separate dashboard fault, but its author could not locate the original post from Grok’s official account. Those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here.

OpenAI’s account-sharing rules do not include a published account or subscription number in the material provided. The shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled for December, but its exact size, the full list of activities that count toward it and how quickly typical tasks use it are not specified here. The statement that Instant chats remain unlimited also does not establish that every other ChatGPT feature is unlimited.

The source material describes OpenAI’s most capable model as using an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model, based on the company’s rate card. It does not provide the calculation’s underlying plan terms or establish how that comparison applies to each subscriber’s monthly use. Readers should treat it as a comparison of token rates, not a prediction of how many conversations a plan will cover.

December Will Clarify Shared Usage

OpenAI’s planned December change is the next stated milestone. Subscribers will be able to see how ChatGPT and Codex draw from the shared allowance once the arrangement takes effect and the company’s usage information is available. The practical effect will depend on the published limits and the user’s mix of tasks.

For Grok Bot, the source material identifies no announced date for a revised limit, a reset or a pricing change. Musk’s post alone does not establish that any of those actions are planned. Users looking for current rules will need to rely on xAI’s subscription and usage information as it changes.

For now, the confirmed developments support a narrow conclusion: companies are adjusting both the size of selected allowances and the way some usage is allocated. Whether that means a subscriber pays more, gets less access or sees little day-to-day difference will depend on the plan and the detailed rules each provider publishes.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No. Musk said serving Grok Bot was unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but his post did not announce a new cap, reset or price.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI’s help center says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans is scheduled to begin in December 2026.

Which ChatGPT plans are covered by the account-sharing limits?

The source material says OpenAI’s rules cover Go, Plus and the three Pro plans. It does not state the number of accounts or subscriptions allowed per device or payment card.

Did OpenAI reduce every paid plan’s allowance?

No such across-the-board reduction is established in the source. OpenAI announced increases for some higher-priced plans, while also introducing account-sharing rules and a future shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex.

Why can two users exhaust an AI allowance at different rates?

xAI says Grok Bot usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested. OpenAI’s rate card also assigns different token rates to different models, according to the source material.

Source: Thorsten Meyer AI

You May Also Like

A Scope Creep Detector Helps Consultants Protect Project Boundaries

An IdeaNavigator AI concept would compare client requests with contract scope and track extra work. A 30-consultant, three-month test is proposed.

How A Claude Bill Turned Into Invoice Tennis Between Microsoft And Anthropic

A Register headline says Microsoft and Anthropic are disputing responsibility for a startup’s $17,600 Claude bill. Key billing details remain unavailable.

A Small Business Guide To AI Automation Software Deals On Prime Big Deal Days

Starter AI automation stacks now cost $15–$50/month and can save small businesses 10–30 hours weekly. What’s confirmed, what’s hype.

Anthropic Looks To AI Agents With Its Claude Duet App

A TechCrunch headline frames Claude Duet as Anthropic’s bet on AI agents, but its features, availability and launch status remain unverified.